The Anchor

The Anchor

The Anchor

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

Congratulations WaMaC Honor Band Participants!

Photo of the 9-10 WaMaC band participants from Clear Creek Amana High School taken by Christopher Copeland
Photo of the 9-10 WaMaC band participants from Clear Creek Amana High School taken by Christopher Copeland

On November 14th, 44 High School band students were awarded the opportunity to represent Clear Creek Amana at the 2023 High School WaMaC Honor Band. Being chosen for this event is a great honor for a musician. Not only is it a reflection of their individual musical talents, but it also recognizes their ability to cooperate with fellow peers. The WaMaC honor band gives students a chance to demonstrate their skills and grow as artists as they rehearse with and learn from other high school musicians from neighboring schools. “I’ve wanted to play in the WaMaC honor band since Freshman year. I’m excited to play music with new people!”, Senior Amoni Alsberry expressed. 

The WaMaC conference organized the grades into distinct bands, with Samantha Beeman overseeing the 9-10 band and Josh Maymire leading the 11-12 band. The event took place at Vinton-Shellsburg High School and included participation from Benton Community, Clear Creek Amana, Grinnell, Vinton-Shellsburg, and Williamsburg. The 9-10 band performed Calle Arriba! By Gregory D.V Holmes, Jig by Kimberly Archer, Luna by Yukiko Nishimura, and Ruckus by Randall Standridge. Shortly after, the 11-12 band played the following pieces: Infinity by Katahj Copley, Let Me Be Frank With You by John Mackey, Lost Valley by Jennifer E. Rose, and Sure On This Shining Night by Samuel Barber/arr. Richard L. Saucedo.

Being selected for the WaMaC honor band is a remarkable achievement for these young musicians and serves as a testament to their dedication to improving their skills and passion for music. Congratulations to the following Clear Creek Amana High School Band Students:

Freshmen: Hailey Robertson, Liahna Malin, Shane Jensen, Addy Meyer, Alex DuBay, Oliver Petrulevich. 

Story continues below advertisement

Sophomores: Morgan Downes, Tessa Mulder, Gabby Romero, Elizabeth Timmerman, Kylie Robertson, Kayla Laschke, Sam Strank, Evan Waring, Alex Bethke, Riley Colvin, Odin Hankins, Liam Maloy, Brody Steggall.

Juniors: Cadence Hochstein, Madi Tonelli, Ava Weatherford, Eva Leighton-Dick, Shelby Heisler, Bryn Hall, Keegan Kenne, Liam Carhoff, Meara Crozier, Emma Oberg, Aubrey Romero, Luke DiLorenzo, Tate Schloss.

Seniors: Alyssa Durkin, Sophia Sedlacek, Anisa Rachman, Jaylnn Beranek, Joey Coburn, Amoni Alsberry, Sarah Barloon, Tyler Blauvelt, John Maloy, Olivia Romero, Fred Schultz, Sophie Zack. 

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Anisa Rachman
Anisa Rachman, Editor-in-Chief

Comments (0)

All The Anchor Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *